To Death Do Us Part!

Happy Fiesta to everyone in San Antonio, TX.  While watching KSAT’s broadcasting of Fiesta Fiesta, I noticed a commercial talking about divorce.  I believe that people think divorce is an easy way out of marriage.

I believe that people don’t work to try to save their marriage.  However, there are certain circumstances mentioned in the Bible for a divorce.  1)If your spouse has had an affair and refuses to reconcile the marriage.  Matthew 5:32 says, But I say to you that everyone who divorces his wife, except on the ground of sexual immorality, makes her commit adultery, and whoever marries a divorced woman commits adultery. 2)If you are unequally yoked. In 1 Corinthians 7:15, it says But if the unbelieving partner separates, let it be so. In such cases, the brother or sister is not enslaved. God has called you 2 j to peace. 

13725420 - tug of war between husband and wife
Copyright: costasz / 123RF Stock Photo

The Bible doesn’t bring up abuse in the marriage. However, it states in 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 about what love is and isn’t.  Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hope, always perseveres.  

I am no expert in this matter or psychiatrist, but I feel strongly about finding the right one and sticking out to death do us part.   Having come from a very strong Christian home where my parents have been married 40+ years and seeing how real love looks like. I can say there will be arguments and disagreements, but at the end, there will be that love of each other.  If you are going though a hard time look for help and work it out with each other. It will make you a more strong couple.

Know that I am here if you need to talk about any thing. I have a strong support group behind me. If I can not help you, I have an army behind me and I have God to get you through this.

Love always,

Carlton Moss

Leave a Reply

